Tuesday 18 June 2019

The Secretary General of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Niall Burgess and Chargé d’affaires of the U.S. Embassy in Ireland, Mr Reece Smyth, are pleased to announce 36 Fulbright Irish Awardees for 2019-2020.

Recipients were presented with Awards at a ceremony in Dublin Castle on Friday.

Academics, professionals and students from 13 HEIs and organisations in Ireland will go to 30 leading U.S. institutions to study and collaborate with experts in their fields. This year’s Fulbright recipients are from disciplines spanning technology, science, language, medicine and the arts. The Fulbright Awards celebrate diversity across topics, geography and backgrounds. Increased funding from both the Irish and U.S. Governments has allowed the Fulbright Commission in Ireland to support a wider range and number of exciting study and research awardees than ever before.

INFANT Principal Investigator Professor Jonathan Hourihane was the only Fulbright Awardee from UCC. Jonathan’s primary area of clinical and research interest is in paediatric food allergy and anaphylaxis. He is co-Principal Investigator of the BASELINE, Ireland’s only birth cohort study (www.baselinestudy.net.), a board member of the National Children’s Research Centre and a founding Board member of the Clemens von Pirquet Foundation and of the Irish Food Allergy Network (www.ifan.ie). He is current President of the Irish Association of Allergy and Immunology.

Jonathan will undertake his Fulbright-HRB Health Impact Scholar Award at the University of Colorado, Denver.

Congratulations Jonathan from all the INFANT team!